Corn and Chile-Lime Spread and Coupon

I found a coupon on another site for Ol ElPaso Green Chiles. I clicked here and printed two $0.55 coupons (print one and then click the back button to print another one. Make sure you do not close the window after printing the first one or you can not print two.) 

I needed some flour to make my banana bread tonight so I headed to the grocery store to see if chiles were on sale or a good buy.
I knew the coupon was for $0.55 for one can of green chiles and that Bi-Lo doubles all coupons that are $0.60 or less. Even though Bi-Lo isn’t my favorite grocery store I thought I would give it a try since I only needed a few items.

Wonderful News! When I got to the store the chiles were $1.31 each and since the coupon doubles I would only have to pay $0.21 for each can. I purchased two cans, got my all purpose flour and headed home . 

Once I got home I realized,  what was I going to do with two cans of green chiles?  Chiles aren’t a regular pantry item in my house so I needed to find a recipe that didn’t involve me buying more groceries and since I am doing the Eating from the Pantry Challenge I had to use what I already had. 

I found one that I could use and several more that actually sounded very tasty.  I hope you can use these with your Green Chiles and still eat from your pantry.

1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
1/2 teaspoon grated lime peel
3 tablespoons lime juice
1 to 2 teaspoons ground red chiles or chili powder
8 ears corn (with husks)

//

1. Heat gas or charcoal grill. In small bowl, mix all ingredients except corn.
2. Remove large outer husks from each ear of corn; gently pull back inner husks and remove silk. Spread each ear of corn with about 2 teaspoons butter mixture; reserve remaining butter mixture. Pull husks up over ears.
3. Place corn on grill. Cook uncovered over medium heat 10 to 15 minutes, turning frequently, until tender. Let stand 5 minutes. Serve corn with remaining butter mixture.
High Altitude (3500-6500 ft): Grill over medium-low heat.

Green Chile Chicken Lasagna

Green Chile-Turkey Enchiladas

Thanks, Bettycrocker.com for the recipes

Thanks, Money Saving Mom for the coupon link

Leave a Reply

