Save Money by Not Throwing Away

I had gotten to the point where I was tired at looking in the fridge and having to throw away so much stuff because I couldn’t remember when I had opened for its first use.  Soy Milk for example should be used within 7-10 days after opening or cream cheese is best if used with in 10 days of opening.  Granted half of the things that have a best or sell date can exceed that time but for me I don’t want to throw it away before its time. 

 So, I came up with a method.  As soon as I open a jar of mushrooms, package of cream cheese, a jar of spaghetti sauce, etc.  I put the opened date on the top of the jar with a permanent marker.

If you can veggies, you will probably not want to use this method.  Try a small plain round sticker like the ones you use for yard sale pricing.

I don’t know how to can and don’t have the patience so my leftover jars are used for sauce mixes, homemade gravy, and craft projects with the kids.  You wouldn’t believe how many frogs my son can put into one of those jars.

YEEESSS! We let them go before bed.

It will also be easier to clean out your fridge when you know what can stay and what can go. 

If you have other great methods you would like to share please let me know.

Leave a Reply

